Lancia Motor Club Forum Banner
29 March, 2024, 05:36:36 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: Need to contact the Forum Administrator? e-mail forum.admin@lanciamc.co.uk, for Database Administrator e-mail database.admin@lanciamc.co.uk      -      Copy deadline for Viva Lancia is 12th of each month.      -      For Events e-mail events@lanciamc.co.uk      -      To Join the club go to http://www.lanciamc.co.uk/join.htm

Home   Help Search Calendar Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: A useful guide to metals  (Read 1751 times)
nthomas1
Rebel Poster

« on: 17 December, 2016, 11:27:06 AM »

As I'm relatively new to this car restoration business I thought I'd polish (!) up my knowledge of metals.  I found this on the internet - so it must be accurate.

A quick guide to metals
BRASS is a very useful sort of metal. It is mined in Yorkshire, and is said to occur wherever there is muck. Out of Brass we make Monkeys, Knobs and Money.
NICKEL is the sort of metal used for making American money.
LEAD is a very heavy sort of metal, used mainly for making the middle of pencils and poisonous paint for children's toys. It is also used for roofing churches which last for hundreds of years because the heavy Lead stops them blowing away.
STEEL is what people do to the Lead on church roofs.
ALUMINUM is a very light sort of metal, often used for supporting chimneys. Specially shaped hooks called Aerials anchor the chimney to the sky and stop it blowing away. They also attract lightning which is made from electricity, which is what makes television work. Aluminum is obtained from milk where it floats to the surface forming a skin.
WIRE is a very thin sort of metal. It is often used for making fences because it is so thin you can see right through it.