Lancia Motor Club Forum Banner
29 April, 2024, 01:02:32 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: Need to contact the Forum Administrator? e-mail forum.admin@lanciamc.co.uk, for Database Administrator e-mail database.admin@lanciamc.co.uk      -      Copy deadline for Viva Lancia is 12th of each month.      -      For Events e-mail events@lanciamc.co.uk      -      To Join the club go to http://www.lanciamc.co.uk/join.htm

Home   Help Search Calendar Register  
Pages: [1] 2   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: B20 Basic maintenance  (Read 2587 times)
timdaw

« on: 09 November, 2023, 04:25:35 PM »

I'm new to the B20 and am finding some everyday maintenance and basic stuff challenging...stuff which is easy on other cars! I have the workshop manual but it has some omissions.

I'd be very grateful for some guidance on the following please:

1. How best to rotate the engine when adjusting points, and where are the timing marks to be found?

2. Where is it best to jack the rear of the car?

Thank you.

Aurelia B20 GT Series III
impaw
Megaposter

« Reply #1 on: 10 November, 2023, 12:15:40 PM »

Hello Tim!
IŽll try to answer a couple of you questions

The flywheel has a tiny "0" stamped on one of its teeth.
It can be hard to spot if the flywheel is dirty.
Clean and perhaps accentuate with a dash of white paint?
This mark should line up with 1 I 4 on the flanger of the engine, when piston #1 is at TDC.
When you time the engine with a strobe light it should line up with A A

Regarding turning the engine, there nut on the crankshaft pulley is 22mm, if you can reach it (my engine is out of the car, so I'm not sure if it is possible to reach it with the radiator in place).

Torstein

1955 Aurelia B20
1966 Fulvia
1966 Fulvia rally/race car
williamcorke
Rebel Poster

B10

« Reply #2 on: 10 November, 2023, 06:18:06 PM »

Hi Tim,